Learning to use CAD

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tmuir

Reaction score
I decided I really need to learn CAD software so I can draw up some plans of all the parts I've made.

I've never used CAD software before and last time I did tech drawing was over 20 years ago in high school so I'm far from an expert in it.

I have dabbled with 3D software before so I do have some idea though.

After doing a search here I came across a post that recommended Alibre.
http://www.alibre.com/

It's free for their basic version and I must say I love it.

Here is a drawing I produced after playing with the software for an hour or two.
Its for a pulley I need to fabricate, yes I forgot to put the groove on the pulley and the hole for the grub screw but for a first play I was quite pleased with it.

The second drawing is for the safety valve and whistle bush and yes a whole a4 drawing for this bush is overkill but I did this drawing really just to have another play with the software.
This drawing took me about 20 minutes to do and I'm sure with practice I would get a lot faster.

Got to say I really like this software.

View attachment Renown_Pulley.pdf

View attachment Renown_bush.pdf

Hi Timur,

I have it too. Very useful and simple enough to use.

Dave

Nice work! CAD is an indispensible tool in my shop, even the simplest jobs. I've been a TurboCAD user (2D only) for over 10 yrs....the older free versions and a newer version bought for less than $20 online.

I have of couple questions about Alibre:

1) Did the program generate the isometric view for you after you drew the top & side views?

2) When you say free, do you mean FREE as in a no cost, unlimited use, less capable version? I only do simple plans and have no need for photo-realistic renderings.

3) Can Alibre save your drawings as standard .dxf files?

Thanks,
Milton