Lathe Types

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rozlo

Reaction score
I have to ask, and I know I'm a newbie. But what is the difference between gunsmith lathes and just a lathe? I'm looking at the grizzly lathes and mills and I only want to buy or spend this kind of money once want to get it right.

The Grizzly G4003G seems to stand out as a gunsmiths lathe.

I'm not the one to define a gunsmith lathe vs any other but I do own a 4003G. The difference seems to be the professed quality of bearings but more obviously the features the gunsmith lathes (from grizzly) come with. For example a "built in" spider on the spindle off-side for ensuring long items don't whip. There is also the ability to use a torque wrench on the tailstock clamping. (Something that one might say is of limited usefulness but the cam lock mechanism works well.) The one difference that I've really come to appreciate is the relatively large spindle bore (1 5/8" on the 4003G). It's one of those things that you don't think you need until you have it.

Hope that's a bit of insight from one that has used one of these lathes for 5+ years. Yes - I would buy it again.

Hi

I have a Grizzly 4003G and have been using it for a little over three years. It has been a good dependable machine. I added DROs, a collet chuck and replaced the crappy oilers with ones with caps. I would buy this unit again.

Mark T

I have the Australian version - AL960b. Not a bad lathe but would be better if it had a carriage stop and a clutch. That said it is a solid machine that can take a serious cut in steel with carbide.

I have to ask, and I know I'm a newbie. But what is the difference between gunsmith lathes and just a lathe? I'm looking at the grizzly lathes and mills and I only want to buy or spend this kind of money once want to get it right.