lapping plate basics

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

petertha

HMEM Supporting Member
Reaction score
Thus far for finishing flats I have been an amateur wet-o-dry paper attached to glass plate kind of guy. I've been Googling lapping plates more out of curiosity, plus I will be receiving some lapping compounds for my cylinder trials & experiments shortly anyway.

I think I understand the basics - cast iron is preferred because its inert + can be trued + re-surfaced + has a surface type that accepts the lapping compound + relief groves can me machined in etc. Here is smaller example maybe catering to woodworking world.
http://www.leevalley.com/en/wood/page.aspx?cat=1,43072&p=59752

What I don't understand is:

- why the relatively deep recess grooves? I would think after only a few lapping circuits, 99% of the compound slurry will just reside in the valley not up on the flats where the cutting action is? Is there maybe a suction principle with the work piece that slurry gets sucked out & re-introduced to the top flats? If the plate had no grooves, wouldn't the excess compound just be pushed off on the side of the motion footprint?

- when vendors talk about oil/petroleum based lapping compound, either pre-mix or adding oil to dry grit, I can visualize the cleaning & re-charging with petroleum based solvent & you are good to go. So is water as a slurry carrier a no-no on the cast iron for obvious (rust) reasons? Maybe water based lapping is only for glass plates & ceramics surfacing for example?

- I also hear diamond compound is kind of specialized & be careful, because its so hard & sharp it can embed in both lap & part even when they are both steel & not easily removed. I've read where ultrasonic cleaners are required. So is diamond a non-no for CI lapping plate?