Just finished, a Rider-Ericsson hot air pumping engine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Orrin

Project of the Month Winner!!!
Project of the Month Winner
Reaction score
Here is the Rider-Ericsson hot air pumping engine I finished just in time for Oregon GEARS, September 25 & 26, 2010. I started it in January, 2010.

Edit0539.jpg

Edit0459.jpg

Edit0475.jpg

Valv0472.jpg

Best regards,

Orrin

I haven't learned how to include a video within a post, yet, so I'll just give the link:

[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HuW5uj_22ao[/ame]

This is my first Youtube experience, so I'm still learning.

Orrin

What a beautiful motion and sound! Real nice.

The beauty of this site and you tube,is that all you have to do is post the link. Much better than photobucket, with all their extra flash and ads.. i also prefer picasa... Advertising off.

Awesome job and very unique engine. Love the sound.

Hot air pump... Sounds like a mechanical politician....

Beautiful, Orrin, and congrats on Engine of the Month, too!
Top rate work there!

Dean

Orrin,
Beautiful job. Did you build from scratch, a casting kit or Plans?

That type of engine is on my build list.

Thanks for sharing that with us.

Mike

Great video Orrin...makes me want to build one that much more !! The still pictures you had already posted were stunning !!!

Regards,
Bill

Orrin,
I found the answer to my questions. I looked at your website and saw that you had machined it from a Myers Kit.

Again, beautiful job.

Thanks, Mike

Hi Orrin;

First let me say you built a great looking engine. I have wanted to build an engine from castings for a long time and after seeing yours I decided to build the Rider-Ericsson. I got the same casting set that you used and have been working on it.

I also got the book (Steam and Stirling) by William C. Fitt to use as a guide.