Introduction, Howdy All!

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JohnT

Reaction score
Hi Everyone!
My name is John and I'm a CNC Machinist by trade - I work at Swagelok in the Valve Division making high pressure fittings and valves, stainless mostly. Incidently I don't use any of their fittings in my model engineering projects as they're just a bit too big!
My shop consists of Lathemaster 9x30 lathe (w/ DRO); Industrial Hobbies manual mill (w/ DRO); South Bend 7" shaper; rotab; dividing head. various and sundry secondary machines such as bench grinder, drill press, filing machine, horiz bandsaw, etc. Most of it crammed into a spare bedroom that has been converted into my shop !!
The design software I use is mainly SolidWorks 2012 and Auto Cad 2011.
My interest in Model Engineering is principally focused on the construction of a 1 1/2" scale three-truck Climax geared Live Steam locomotive of the Reedy design for 7 1/2" gauge track, right now. It is a SUBSTANTIAL project so I try not to get off on too many tangents. It will probably take me six years to build it. After that I would like to build a two or three truck Shay and an American Log Loader (Live Steam, of course).
Secondary interests include scale IC engines (particularly a 1/8 scale Ford Model A engine -to into a 1/8 scale '31 Model A pickup; and a Harley Davidson Panhead) and marine and stationary steam: particularly multi-cylinder both regular and compound.
That's all for now, folks! Thanks!

Last edited:
I've used some Swagelock valves in the past. Good stuff :)
Please do post some pics of your loco build!

Welcome John, you should fit right in here!!!

Bill

John

Welcome to HMEM John. Thanks for the great introduction. What part of the country/world are you located in? We look forward to your participation in the various forums.