I'm in. This is fantastic.

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zeeprogrammer

Reaction score
After years of looking for a hobby I settled on home machining. It's amazing how well it relates to my interests and my experiences. You can't imagine how excited I am...and how excited I am to have found this site. It looks great!

I'm a newbie obviously. I've spent the last several weeks putting together my workshop (mini lathe and mill). Now I'm experimenting...learning how to break things, burn myself, and what all of these cool tools are capable of. What I'm trying to do is learn how to adjust the lathe and mill to get good cuts. Until the tools are right I can't expect to make anything I'm proud of. Taking it slow.

On a more personal note...born in the Midwest, spent my wonder years in Europe, schooled in the Midwest and now I'm outside Philadelphia in West Chester working as a software engineer. You can't see the 1's and 0's. Time to get some dirt under the fingernails.

Hello, zeeprogrammer, welcome to HMEM.

Chuck

Welcome to HMEM zeeprogrammer

Rick

Welcome to the club!

I used to work out in your area. Still live fairly close (right over the border in NJ).

Eric

Zeeprogrammer,

Welcome to our forum.
icon_welcome.gif

Best Regards
Bob

Welcome. This is a great hobby. I went to collage on the Main Line; I love that area outside Philly.

Yesterday was discouraging. Dulled my bandsaw, couldn't cut a thread, can't measure right, and broke a nail. Which of the smiley faces is sad? Don't want to use angry dude.