How to dress a bench grinder?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tmuir

Reaction score
Its finally reached a stage where I need to invest in a dressing tool for my grinding wheels.
I've never done this before and I'm looking for tips and what is the easiest way to go.

I can get a single point diamond dresser fairly cheap or a dressing tool that has a rectangular face impregnated with diamond dust.

Is one better than the other?
Which is easier to use?
I know this is pretty basic stuff but I've never needed to do this before but I'm slowly using more HSS tools and less carbide tipped tools and loking at my grinder last night I could see it was clogged and needs dressing.

I use a coarse carborundum dressing stick on my bench grinder and save the diamond for my surface grinder.

I use a cheap one.

GrinderDressingTool.jpg

It can be found for about $8.00 on line at places such as Widget Supply.

Very low tech, but it works well for me.

Rick

Thanks.
I have a $20 voucher from Carbetc from buying my bench wood lathe from them before Christmas so I think I will go use that to get this.
http://www.carbatec.com.au/wheel-doctor_c2000

Without the voucher it would be too expensive but with it its not too bad.

I use the diamond tiped cutter... works well for me... just go slow... just bought a new one... about $5 aus on flea bay.

I had the same situation the other day,and thought about buying a diamond dresser,I tried an old 4 inch diamond cutting disc that I use on the angle grinder,and guess what,it worked a treat.
A cheap way out and very effective.
Don

Just today I picked one up at Harbor Freight for $2.99