How do I create gCode from a 3D image

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

eskimobob

Reaction score
I'm quite new to CNC so bear with me.

I have got EMC running on Linux controlling my rebuilt Denford Triac. I have created a DXF file of a simple 2D shape using my PCB editing program and then used a program called dxf2gcode to create a gCode file that EMC can use.

As a test, I also installed a program called CncSimulator which seems to allow me to simulate the gCode in the file that I have created. It looks like it produces sensible toolpaths but I have not tried running it on the machine yet ;) I plan to run it with a pencil in the chuck first to see what it would cut.

My question: - I see quite a few people showing nice 3D images of their models created in one program or another but I don't know how I would go about taking a 3D image and creating gCode from it?

Am I right in thinking that when they want to machine a specific part, they get the program to show them a 2D image and then they export that to DXF and then convert from DXF to gCode - or is there a simpler way?

Regards
Martin

eskimobob
Our vendors at work have solidworks (which we use) and MasterCam software .But when dealing with other vendors we give them an "iges" or "stp" file. Their software is able to take that in with no problems.
Hope this helps a little
Tony

You'll need a 3D CAD software and a CAM software. I use Solidworks and VisualMill. Many CAM software have drawing capability, but they are often limited compared to design software. It's a pretty steep learning curve if you have never done it. It is rewarding. I often recommend people take a class if available at a local college to learn the CAD.

Some of the 3d images you've seen are a by-product, not the design tool themselves.