Hoglet Ignition

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

seadragonfoundry

Reaction score
I have been progressing well with my pair of Hoglets. Have just finished cutting the cams, I used the method described in MEB Issue 7. To obtain the angular separation between the lobes, I graduated the baseplate on which the 3 jaw chuck is attached. The Stressproof steel 1144 was obtained from Speedy Metals, it is a dream to machine.

A question please, for those who have gone before me. What did you use or where did you purchase your ignition system from?
I notice on engines shown on YouTube, what appears to be a cylindrical coil mounted above the kick start mechanism and the plans clearly allow for this but no mention is made of the ignition itself. All help gratefully received.

photo 4.jpg

photo 1.jpg

photo 2.jpg

photo 3.jpg

I got mine from SS Machine though have yet to hook it up, they do one specifically for the Hoglet. I also has nice small silicone wires and plug caps not the thick braided cable and metal caps like the Rxcell ones. Got to me in the UK in less than a week and there was no duty to pay

Towards the bottom of the order page

http://www.cncengines.com/orderpage.html

J

PS its a good method for doing the cams, first time I had used it on this engine

Last edited:
Hi seadragon.
I got my ignition from Roy Scholl. google SS machine and you vill find it.
What you see abowe the crankmechanism on the youtube videos is the coil from Jerry Howels ignitionsystem. I'm not sure if you can get thous anymore.
Nice work on the camshaft.I make my camshaft the same way you did. but I made it whit 4 lobes. Plans for the 4lobes did I get from Clerance Elias.
Best reg.
CS