Hide-away metal storage drawer.

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DICKEYBIRD

Reaction score
I posted this on another forum but thought maybe someone here might find it useful as well.

I made a big drawer to slide in & out from under the middle workbench in my shop rolling directly on the floor on 6 ball-bearing wheels saved from youngest daughter's cast-off inline skates. The base was made from a panel pinched from a display unit at work I've been hoarding since 1992. It's heavy 3/4" particle board with genuine imitation woodgrain formica on both sides. The usable space is 55" x 26".

The black colored front & rear panels were pieced together from the deck off of a parted out treadmill. It's MDF with a hard plastic laminate on one side. The partitions were made from scraps of 5/8" plywood I had lying around.

I stumbled onto a bargain at H/F the other day; 20 - 4"x5"x3" plastic storage bins with wall hanging strips for $4.99! I mounted 8 of them on the back panel to put smaller stuff in which leaves a couple inches under for flat stuff plus they're easily removable for access.

I figure on putting roughly 4 ft. long flats & angles in the 1st long partition and rounds in the second. Wider/shorter flat stuff goes in one side of the back and short rounds in the other. It should make my metal junk MUCH easier to find now. It's not fully loaded yet but has at least 150-200 lbs in it and rolls real easy on the urethane wheels. Time will tell if they get lumpy from the weight...so far so good!

Milton

Drawer Open.jpg

Drawer Closed.jpg

Drawer Bottom.jpg

Drawer Wheel.jpg

Thats funny I made almost the same thing a few years ago. Its amazing how similar minds think alike.

Dave