Hi there from South Africa 2

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Turbodirect

Reaction score
Hi all,

Im also from S.A -- love the web page too, started my own project which is the Jerry howel V-twin - its my first project, but im not scared, i own CNC equipment and know my basic way around these machines.

I got the materials for the engine last week, and started and almost completed the Cylinders already - just need to bore and hone to size for the piston and these will be done.

here's a pic so long.

Next i will be machining up the block -- in fact the CNC mill is being cleaned and prepped for this now.:cool:

20131112_144739_resized.jpg

20131112_144811_resized.jpg

20131112_144816_resized.jpg

Hi Turbodirect,

Welcome from faraway Singapore.
Did my time studying CNC machining in 1984 but went on no further. Way back in 1984, just five fingers count count all the CNC Lathes and CNC MachineCentres. Today all machineshops must have at least ten CNCs to cope with machining parts to stay in biz. There are now thousands of CNCs operating in tiny Singapore.Even tiny one man Plastic Mould Machine shops must have one CNC MachineCentre.
CNCs still fascinate me.

Retired since 2001 and making do with a small machineshop in the balcony.And it can only be just a mini lathe,mill,drill press and a Makita Bandsaw.

Would love to see your engine running.Please post video.

hey Gus --

thanks for the post - i only began today witht the engine, and so far you have seen the pics of the clinders, and i have just completed the sizing of the block, and chamfers on the edges on all eight corners on both blocks -- im making two of everything.... dont know why yet... hehe

I LOVE engineering-- i mke lots of mistakes, but i learn evey time, and get better and better at it as i go along.