Hello HMEM from Nova Scotia, Canada

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sparticusrye

Reaction score
Hello HMEM members,

I've been checking out all the builds over the last week or two and am excited to get machining again. I am a Marine Engineering Technician, which is a fancy term for stoker, in the Canadian Navy. I've been Naval Machinist for a few years now and just finally after much begging and saving pruchased a lathe for my home shop. Next big purchase will be a mill but until then I'll do any required milling at lunch on a machine at work. (Machine availabliity dependent)

I've got a far amount of formal training in machining and will do what I can to help out. My first project is in the chuck atm and I'll start a post once I've made a little progress (still waiting on a shipment of measuring tools). Can only do so much with calipers and a few mics. At the moment I've got the crankcase for a "Bill - 1906 Four Cycle Gas Engine, by Jerry Howell" in the chuck awaiting some telescopic guages. Probably should have picked a different part to start with but it was printed on sheet 2 of the drawings and I was excited to get started. Now its stuck there to keep concentricity until I can bore the bearing hole to size.

For a lathe I've got a Craftex 10" x 18" benchtop lathe that so far is better then I expected. I made a couple MT2 arbors for it just to get a feel for the machine and it seems to be accurate enough for the small jobs I've got planned. I've also got a drill press that was my final project for the Naval Machinist course, very accurate way better then store bought, machined from castings that the class packed moulds for and helped cast of the Lunenberg Foundry here in Nova Scotia. Then of course my shop has a grinder and various hand tools, files, drills, etc.

Well that's a little about me.

James