Hello from Santiago de Chile!!

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Anko

Entusiasta
Reaction score
Hi to everyone!

First I apologise for my poor english, i can read with no problmes, but redact is a little more complicated to me..

well, a little of me, Im a electrical engineer student here in chile, I begin making guitar effects and valve amps for fun and for won a little money, but with time i start to get interested in metalworking and model making, searching info in the net i found this forum, and when saw the photos of your workshops and models, especially the images in the work in progress forum, well, i decided to get full in metalworking and engine models.

so i started to save money for over a year and bought a used lathe for a good price (+/- $1600 dolars) a 13"x 40" gear-head floor lathe in good condition and get some basic tooling..

six month later i borrow money and buy a Einhell mini-mill (is identical to the sieg x2 with some minor details, i believe that the table is just a little bit longer that the sieg), not even working on the mill, only just playing with "the new toy" i broke the inner gear jaja, so i made mi own belt-drive convertion (but i had to import the belt, was impossible to find any belt that is not a car belt here in chile..), after that i made the air spring mod with a car door air spring and worked very well.

again had to wait until get some money to buy some basic tooling from grizzly, here in chile the only items yo can find of metalworkin are large and amazing expensives, here a regular hss 1/2" end mill cost like $20 dolars!!! in the grizzly catalog the same cost only $4.95.. :mad:

here is impossible to find any tooling smaller that 6", so for my mini-mill the only posibility is to buy from Grizzly o LMS, and pay expensives shipping and taxation. :'(