Hello from Redmond, WA

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

coolgoose

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

After browsing this site for months I have finally decided to take up the model engineering as a hobby. Now here is my dilemma, I am a computer engineer. I have never dealt in making anything with metals..only made software :) I never took shop class in my high school and do not know anything about operating lathes or milling machines. I have checked with local technical college (Lake Washington Technical College) about courses on Machining. They offer courses on Machine Technology (http://www.lwtc.edu/Class_Schedule_Search_Results.xml?qtr=B013&query=Machine+Technology) but they are expensive and geared more towards someone who is looking for a career as a machinist.

How or where should I begin? Is buying a mini lathe and taking up small projects is the right way to begin model engineering? Or do I need myself to be acquainted with machining before taking up model engineering as a hobby? Guys please advise me on this.

Thank You for your time!

Hi coolgoose,

I have a background in software engineering & knew nothing about machining when I started out , a year ago. Like you, then I didnt have lathe.

I took a once- aweek evening class in model engineering, The idea was learn to use the lathe at college.
However I found that a problem as much of the time I was reduced to looking over the tutors shoulder as he pretty much made the part for me. Also his time was didvided among various students at diff stages.
(not his fault he was great when did help me).

Really found I needed a lathe of my own to try things out on, make mistakes , go watch a video a couple of times , go back to the lathe try again etc.

Just my experience & 10 pence.

As to where to start, Tin Falcon started this thread which is a excellent starting point: