Gingery Metal shaper

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Norman

Reaction score
I just found this forum, I made the patterns and been casting and machining a metal shaper for the last 3 months got it to the working stage finally!
Here's a short video of my project.
[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AyNMzSj7yfo[/ame]
All of my foundry tools and furnace are home made. I use waste engine oil to fire the furnace. My casting sand is walmart play sand with clumping cat litter for the binder.
I hope to hear from any of you out there thats built one of these things. I'm planning on building the mill but I'll go at a slower pace on it
I missed all of spring and 1/2 of the summer building the shaper. I kind of dived in with both feet on this project.
One of my longest projects was a home built airplane (KR-2) I've been flying it since 1985 when it was finished started it Nov 1982 first flight was July 1985.
Norman

This isn't any metal casting. Here is the airplane that I built from plans,including the engine.[ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S019j7H01JY&feature=related[/ame]
over 200 mph pass with a 2180 cc engine

Norman,

Nice job on the shaper. I've got Gingery's set of books. I got as far as building the charcoal furnace.

About your plane. That 2180cc sounds familiar. Could it be a hopped up VW engine?

Bernd

Norman,

Welcome aboard. wEc1

Nice shaper.

Do you have any photos from the build?

We really like th_wwp

SAM

Norman, nice machines! That shaper is smooth! The Airplane is speedy!

Bernd: The KR planes are VW powered.

Yes I've got one video of a pour and some still photos of the shaper and patterns. I started the metal mill last night.
Yes the plane is bug powered stock is 1600cc mine is bored and stroked to 2180cc
norman