Gerry's Beam Engine - Metric

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ken I

Project of the Month Winner!!!
Project of the Month Winner
Reaction score
I have recently started building Gerry's Beam Engine - but first I completely redrew and metricated it if anyone is interested.

In steam driven 2D ACAD10 - I've been designing machinery for nigh on 30 years with it and can't be bothered to "upgrade" this close to retiring.

So this engine is now 12.5mm bore by 25mm stroke - similarly all other dimensions and threads have been changed (not simply multiplied by 25.4).

I also changed the position of the valvegear bellcrank as I didn't like the look of that cantilevered pin on the end of the valve stem.
--------------------------------------------------------------
Update - Re request from smgraph

I have attached the *.dxf file (don't know if it works) and updated a few minor errors & material changes 24/11/2010

gbeam40.jpg

View attachment Beameng.dxf

View attachment Beameng.dwg

Thank you Ken, I want to build a beam engine some time and it's nice to finally have some plans in metric...great work :bow:

Paul

I am having a problem. I cannot open this file. Can you change it to PDF format.

"Bill Gruby"

Bill - I'll see if I can do that - but you lose all the real dimension vector data and I will have to paginate it or there will be too much for a single page print.

I have since built this and it works fine - you can follow the build under a work in progress.

Regards,
Ken

Ken;
Believe it or not I found the plans on another site last night with three pages missing. I found on this site the missing pages this morning. I am good to go. Thanx. Almost forgot, I downloaded the free trial DeltaCad and opening your file was easy.

"Bill Gruby"

Bill,