Gearless Hit-miss engine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dave G

Reaction score
Hello again,
I thought I'd should post a photo of one of my scratch built engines. I wouldn't want everyone to think I'm a smoke blower.
I came accross this idea at the Portland In. gas engine show. There was an engine on display that used a crossover cam design to actuate the exhaust valve. I studied the design for quit a while, trying to figure out how to make the crossover cam. I ended up making it in three pieces to simplify manufacture. The engine has a bore and stroke of 1.000 inch. It is has a
hit-miss governor on the end of the crankshaft.The flywheel has a diameter of 4.25 inches. It runs quite well at 450-600 rpms. I utilized one of Roy Scholl's electronic ignition setups to fire the sparkplug. I built this engine last year in three weeks time after thinking about it for three months previous. I was in a hurry to finish it for the Names show. Luckily it ran with no major glitches. I have produced almost all the drawings for this engine although I am not a draftman(mediocre) but I hope they will be good enough for others to be able to follow. If there is interest,I'll try to find time to finish them. Let me know.
Dave.
100_0901.jpg
[/img]

Sorry guys, I'm still struggling with this picture thing, I'll try again.
100_0902.jpg
[/img]

This should do it:
100_0902.jpg

Looks nice. Should put something next to it for scale.

oh yes we always would like drawings and thats a nice looking engine there too . i like the governor on the end like that looks cool.

Dave,