Fusion 360 for a beginner

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

davidyat

HMEM Supporting Member
Reaction score
I decided to try my hand at Fusion 360. I've never used a CAD program before and wanted to try. I bought the Autodesk Fusion 360 Basics Tutorial and am going nuts. Nothing from the book seems to work. I've tried to make the first couple items many times and most of the time the program says it won't work or doesn't look anything like the pictures in the book. Can anyone give me any suggestions where I can learn CAD. I'm being factious but it seems, to just draw a line, you have to hit 17 buttons and search drop down menus to get anything done. Why is this program so convoluted?
Grasshopper

Fusion 360 like most cad programs don't make much sense when you first use them, but after awhile things begin to click.

what are you having the problem with?

there are lots of good vids on YT...... NYC CNC Fusion friday is a good place to start.
just found this one.....
then we have Lars Christensen

50+ years ago, I was a manual draftsman, pencil and paper type.
I left a career in drafting for a 22 year stint in the USAF. Over the years since retiring from active duty, and a second career maintaining computers in the public education sector, I've tried most flavors of CAD. Then I stumbled, no, make that tripped over Fusion. I could not make sense of CAD at the start, but I found Paul McWhorter's excellent tutorial series on Youtube, and now am quite comfortable designing my own projects in Fusion. I had a bunch of help from Tutorials by NYC CNC and Lars Christensen, as well as others. Don't give up. If this 70 year old can do it, anyone can...
There are also a couple Facebook forums that can answer questions, and I'm willing to help any way I can.

Brad Tallis is another guy on youtube that does tutorials on fusion .