Fuel for Model Engines

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nx06563

HMEM Supporting Member
Reaction score
I have been building model engines for several years now and am always looking for a cheap readily available fuel. I have run camp stove fuel and straight methanol. Methanol is hard to find in small quantities and a 55 gal. drum might be excessive for my needs. Camp stove fuel was my go to when I ran out of methanol but one of my engines knocked pretty bad because of the low Octane. I tried mixing the two but they like to separate.

I have finally settled on good old denatured alcohol solvent. I buy gallon cans of Sunnyside denatured alcohol at Menards. The MSDS says it is a mix of ethyl and methyl alcohols in some trade secret ratio. Don't care what the ratio is cause it seems to run well.

What is everybody else out there using.

They use methanol for race cars. Typically they sell in 5 gallon cans.

Dave

I have been building model engines for several years now and am always looking for a cheap readily available fuel. I have run camp stove fuel and straight methanol. Methanol is hard to find in small quantities and a 55 gal. drum might be excessive for my needs. Camp stove fuel was my go to when I ran out of methanol but one of my engines knocked pretty bad because of the low Octane. I tried mixing the two but they like to separate.

I have finally settled on good old denatured alcohol solvent. I buy gallon cans of Sunnyside denatured alcohol at Menards. The MSDS says it is a mix of ethyl and methyl alcohols in some trade secret ratio. Don't care what the ratio is cause it seems to run well.

Some gas station have Ethanol Alcohol by gallon it is cheap $2.99 or gallon.

Dave

Methanol, which is often labeled paint thinners in AUS, and Castrol M, which is a mixing caster base oil.