Flywheel material - ok to subsitute aluminum for steel ?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

David Morrow

Reaction score
I'm building Jan Ridders' Atkinson engine "Wouter" and need to make a flywheel - 6" diameter x .750" thick and the plan calls for steel or brass. Due to equipment and material issues, I'd like to use aluminum. My question is, with aluminum being lighter than either steel or brass, will this cause me any problems in running the engine ? I'm thinking that I could make up for weight difference by making an aluminum flywheel 1" thick.

Any thoughts on substituting the thicker aluminum ?

I've no experience with aluminium flywheels, but I don't like your chances of it working. The flywheel is there to provide momentum and relies on the weight. Even going from 3/4" to 1" thick won't help.

Paul.

Can you find a piece of thick wall steel pipe to make a rim for the flywheel? Weight in the rim is most important- note how many flywheels have spokes or holes in the center. Even a 1/2" thick rim, on kind of like a tire, would be much more likely to work.

I'm building Jan Ridders' Atkinson engine "Wouter" and need to make a flywheel - 6" diameter x .750" thick and the plan calls for steel or brass. Due to equipment and material issues, I'd like to use aluminum. My question is, with aluminum being lighter than either steel or brass, will this cause me any problems in running the engine ? I'm thinking that I could make up for weight difference by making an aluminum flywheel 1" thick.

~~~~~~~~~~~

Rotary Momentum relates to mass in a flywheel.

The density of the flywheel material affects the overall mass, but you can
alter the dimensions about to get the mass you need.

A flywheel of 6" diameter and 0.750" thick in Brass has a mass of 6.5 LB.

Same size flywheel in mild steel = 6.0 LB.