First steam engine----Building a Wobbler

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brian Rupnow

Design Engineer
Project of the Month Winner
Reaction score
Work is progressing on my "wobbler"---(somehow that sounds vaguely dirty!!) I am following a set of free plans that I downloaded off the internet. So far, so good. I did go up to Busy Bee this afternoon and spend a whole $15.00 for a 3/8" reamer to do the cylinder bore with. I just didn't trust my ability to bore it to a good enough finish to have it work right. I am glad that someone on the home machinists website told me about these free plans that could be built from bar stock. I saved $100 thru not having to purchase a "kit", but have now spent over $100.00 for tooling to build the darn thing!!! :eek: :eek: :eek:

STEAM ENGINE001.JPG

I am a design engineer, specializing in prototype machinery and factory automation. I bought a lathe 3 months ago, and am enjoying building this model steam engine. I haven't ran a lathe since my apprenticeship, 43 years ago. After I downloaded the plans, I converted them to 3D cad files to get a feel for the construction of the machine, then I added a virtual motor to the CAD model to see it run and understand the "wobble" of the cylinder. I am attaching both the 3D model, and a short vidio clip of the machine running.---

full assembly.jpg

View attachment FULL ASSEMBLY.avi

Welcome to the world of model engine building.
tin

Hello Brian,

Firstly, welcome to the fun ;)

As I'm sure your aware, the good point about buying the tools instead of the kit is now you can make a lot more than just the kit! ;D By far the best choice.

Thank you for the running cad image, since I'm about to find and make my first steamer it will help to have that visual image of the cylinder/port layouts :)

Ralph.