few words and pics about my shop and mill... and me

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ariz

Reaction score
well, I met you and this great group some months ago, but I never presented myself
I'm sorry, but I'm a little reserved, almost timid on myself

anyway, now I know you and the feeling of this group, so any embarassment has gone :)
I'm italian and I live near Mantova, a small city in the north, near Verona (do you remember Romeo and Giulietta?)
I'm a librarian, but my hobby has always been mechanics: I like cars and bikes and to work on them.
Model engines are a new discovery for me, just after having met this group.

why I'm writing here in the 'Shop' section?
because some days ago I sold my mill, an X2 mini-mill, to buy a greater mill
but in the meantime I'm a little puzzled, because I can't work as every day in the last months ???

yesterday I built a new bench for the new mill
I made it with a square tube of iron of 4 x 4 cm and 3 mm thickness
on the top there is a piece of MDF of 4 cm thickness, where I cut a square hollow of 15 x 15 cm for inspect and lube the mill
the legs and all the structure are welded, while the table is supported only and fixed with silicone
I hope that the bench could support the new mill, which is about 180 kg in weight

bench1.jpg

bench2.jpg

bench3.jpg

bench5.jpg

bench7.jpg

and this is my workshop... ehm, it is a shed indeed, it was the garage for my car, but day after day the car was expelled ::)

shed1.jpg

shed2.jpg

shed3.jpg

shed4.jpg

shed5.jpg

shed6.jpg

shed7.jpg

space is never enough here.
besides this shop has a mysterious ability: it produces powder from nothing!
if I sweep the shop with a broom 10 times, there is always new powder coming from somewhere... :'(

well, here there is a violent storm... must go!!!

Ariz,

That's a very nice shop you have. :bow: