experimental steam engine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dave-in-england

Reaction score
Hi all,

Over the last year in my spare time I have put together my design of a twin cylinder sleeve valve steam engine.

This is my first attempt at a steam engine, engines of which I know little about.

Maybe some wise old hands here on HMEM could look over the design and see if it has any chance of working in real life !

The working principal is as flash steam.

A coal burner heats up two strong stainless steel cylinders positioned in the top half of the burner.

A small piston pump built inside the base of the engine, driven by the crankshaft, forces about 10cc of water through a fine spray injector that is bolted on to one end of each stainless steel cylinder.

The water spray turns into steam inside the red hot cylinder, creating pressure in the cylinder and all along the pipework to the inlet valve.

This pressure is contained and held in the pipework momentarily until the slide valve on the side of the cylinder head opens, letting the pressure into the cylinder and forcing the piston down the bore.

The piston on the return stroke forces the spent steam out through the exhaust valve, and eventually through a tube pointing vertically in the top of the coal burner chimney, creating an incoming air draft through the hot coal fire.

I don't have any machinery or equipment, or I would have had a go at building it, but I wondered if anyone at HMEM would be interested in actually making the engine as a experimental project to see if it works. ! ! ! !

I know that this model will cost a lot in time and money and patience, but this will be something different !

There needs to be a couple of one-way valves and a water inlet control valve in the pipe circuit but I have not included them in the model.