Engineering calculation, fastening 2 gears

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I hear a collective sigh of relief. 2 pins should adequately transmit the torque, so the glue is only holding it all together. My biggest concern with the use of adhesive on the faces to transmit torque is simply that ANY axial misalignment (a fraction of a thou even?) could cause some tightness at some point in the gear meshing, that would transmit to oscillating high shear forces on the adhesive. This would be bound to cause premature failure of the assembly. As a starter gear-box you may get away with it, but with 2 pins taking the shear forces I am sure you now have a much stronger and more durable assembly. But you need to try and get perfect concentricity of one gear on the other. (As a designer I should arrange the small gear to have an extended cylinder upon which the larger gear if fitted, as concentric cylindrical surfaces can easily be made when making the gear blanks. But you are past the design stage!).
Well done on the machining!
K2

Not quite sure I follow some of your comments but maybe this will help.