Elmer's Geared Steam Engine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vascon2196

Reaction score
O.K. everyone....this is my 5th engine and for me it was definately the most difficult. I chose the engine (not because I was drunk) but because I had never seen one. I wanted to build something unique. Being a draftsman by trade and only CAD as a background I may take a little longer than the everage guy to make these parts but I get by. Some of you "old school" machinists may cringe when you see how these parts are made but try and remember the only machinin experience I have are my 5-small steam engines.

The first few pictures I am posting are of the flywheel. I documented (everything) so there will be plenty of pictures and videos to follow. Yes, the engine ran......but not on the first try, or the second, or the third, or when I almost threw it across my shop, but after two weeks of re-work and carefull thinking (about what I did wrong) I had it running. What a learning experience this engine was.

Hope you like the build...here goes.

facingtheflywheel.jpg

flywheelturnedandfacedandgroovestar.jpg

flywheelreadyfordrilling.jpg

cdrilltheflywheel.jpg

drillingtheflywheel.jpg

finishedholeandchamfer.jpg

facingbackofflywheelin4-jaw.jpg

flywheelcomplete.jpg

Hi Chris. Your making real good progress! Going all out too, with the use of ball bearings. Your getting a real nice finish with the lathe work.

What kind of lathe do you have?

-MB

Hi Chris
Looks like your doing a really good job so far,looking forward to seeing the
rest of the build.
Ken

Have you priced out the internal gear yet? th_confused0052 They are a bit salty in price. I started the engine about 1 year ago and stopped when I found out the price.

Dave

Metal Butcher said: