Electric boiler?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ddmckee54

HMEM Supporting Member
Reaction score
I've got a defunct steam sanitizer, think small(ish) hand-held steam cleaner, that I'm considering using to build an electric steam generator - similar to the Mamod electrics only slightly larger.

I know I'll need a bunch of safeties for this, both electrical and mechanical, with a GFCI at the top of the list. The safeties part doesn't worry me - I design industrial control systems for a living. I'm just wondering if anybody's already gone down this path or if I'd be blazing my own trail. I'd like to have some idea if this will work, preferably without wasting my time or materials to find out.

I haven't ripped it apart yet to find out how big the heating element is, just going by the size of the power cord I'm guessing it's maybe a couple hundred watts. I've got no idea what this thing looks like on the inside and whether of not this idea is even feasible. I'll try to take it apart this weekend and see if it's do-able. If it looks like this just might be possible I'll take some pictures - otherwise I'm not going to waste everybody's time.

Don

Well, I finally got a chance to tear the defunct steam sanitizer apart to see if it was usable. Nope, not gonna happen - had a couple of problems.

First, the heating element was die-cast into a rather large alloy block. It felt too heavy to be aluminum, substitute your own spelling if you're on the wrong side of the pond. I'm thinking it's probably a zinc/aluminum alloy. I might have been able to deal with the big lump is some form or another, but when I started checking the electrical components I found that there was no continuity through the heating element, it was a completely open circuit.