Don't you just love CNC?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I've been a professional computer programmer for almost 40 years. Here are a few comments I have made, or heard, dealing with computers. They apply to CNC as well.

Computers allow us to make mistakes faster and with less effort than ever before.

Modern computers allow us to make mistakes the ancients could only dream of.

It would take 10,000 mathematicians working 8 hours a day for a thousand years to make the same number of mistakes a computer can make in 1 second.

These modern multi-core super high speed processors have taught me patience.

Computers provide us with the ability to create disasters far beyond that which the unaided intellect will ever achieve.

Wasting time is the single human activity most improved by computers.

Hours of computation are no substitute for a few seconds of thought.

It's all fun and games until the tool slips out of the spring collet.

on the wall of my Fortran classroom

I really hate this machine!
I wish that they would sell it!

It never does just what I want!

But only what I tell it.........

schmetty said:
Well it happens i wish i had a picture of the kurt vise someone plowed the cutting head right into it.

On a Haas mill it shows work offset position for x,y, and z but because it uses tool length offset to guage where the part is in relation to the cutter you never need to change that z unless you have a special setup.

With that being said one of the hotshot students that really didnt know what he was doing changed that z coordinate to the parts zero BIG MISTAKE.