Dead center and filing

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Hobgobbln

Reaction score
I need to turn some 7/8" diam by 9" long pieces out of 1" 6061. I didn't get a live center when I bought my lathe (used). I'm assuming that I need to use some kind of oil/grease with the dead center. What should I use? I'm new to a lathe and haven't used a center yet. Any tips?

I also need to put a gradual concave curve about 4" long. The curve radius isn't critical as this is not part of a mechanical assembly. I thought I would use a 1/2 round file. Is using a hand file while its turning ok?