Craftsman 6" lathe help needed

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jgarrett

HMEM Supporting Member
Reaction score
I recently purchased a Craftsman 6" lathe Model 101.21400 and the tool post rocker is missing.
If someone could post the dimensions of theirs it would be greatly appreciated. It would save me lot of time fabricating one.
Thanks,
Julian

Do you mean the crescent-shaped part?
A big woodruff key is a great starting point

Is this what you are looking for?
I measured it up, the large radius will have to match the radius on ring around the toolpost.

Good luck!
MikeR C

Rocker for atlas.jpg

Thanks Mike, that is exactly what I am looking for.
I will put Roberts tool post link on my bucket list as that looks a lot better than the standard one.
Being a novice I hate to admit I have never even seen one but I figured the height of the rocker would be critical to the tool center. My big lathe has a QTP.
Cheers,
Julian

Tin Falcon said:

Have one of those for my craftsman 6" The "T" nut as it is, is lacking. Its just a round piece. Make, beg, borrow, steal, have someone turn one up for you a "T" nut like in Deans writeup to spread the load. The little round one just doesn't have enough surface area which will allow the post to move. Deans system sure looks like a $50 deal :)

Robert

I am beginning to become attached to this little fellow the more I use it. I may just go ahead and get one of the QCTPs for it.
Thanks for the suggestions...
Julian

Julian Garrett said:
I am beginning to become attached to this little fellow the more I use it. I may just go ahead and get one of the QCTPs for it.
Thanks for the suggestions...
Julian