Copyright Question

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kcmillin

Project of the Month Winner!!!
Project of the Month Winner
Reaction score
Awhile back I was asked if I could make an engine for someone to purchase. Specifically, the Poppin Flame Eater. The plans for this engine are available free online, and it is not the plans I am making but the engine in which the plans describe. As I understand it the plans are copyrighted but the finished engine (or whatever) is not under copyright.

My question is: Once we build an engine from plans which are copyright protected, Is it ours to do with what we want, I.E. Sell it? This is assuming that all design credit is given to the Author, and not advertised as one's own, even if slight modifications were made to the original design.

Kel

I am not an expert on this by any means. I used to build model airplanes for people from copyrighted plans. The plans were copyrighted not what I built. From what you describe I would say the same applies. You cannot offer the plans for resale but I believe this does not apply to the item built. I need to add here that I never built the same plane twice. Only once per plan. The market was never that great.

"Bill Gruby"

Are you not describing the difference between a copyright and a patent?

Not a lawyer here by any means, but I suspect the answer lies somewhere in the issue of commercial use. Is making one or two things from copyrighted plans a commercial venture? Don't know. But what if any of us were to take someones copyrighted plans and start mass producing them for sale? That would seem to be a more obvious infirngement of the author's/designer's intellectual property. The question is, as what point is that line crossed...1...10...100...or 10,000? Great question though.

Bill