Chuck Runout

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

doubletop

Project of the Month Winner
Reaction score
I purchased a new lathe last year and until now haven't needed to make much use of the 4 Jaw chuck. During the week I needed to make some new main driver crank pins for the Simplex loco I'm refurbishing. Anyway, it needed the 4 jaw to ensure they were truly concentric. Running a 550 revs there was a noticeable vibration and the 4 jaw chuck body looks like its running eccentrically.

I decided to do some checks with the DTI but I've no idea what should be expected so here's a video of the results and I'm sure you guys are going to put me right.

http://www.youtube.com/v/avA4yc0ZBVg

DTI resolution is 0.0001" so each unit of major scale = 0.001"

Pete

Pete I am no expert but I think I saw the 4 jaw chuck backplate wobbling. Maybe the backplate face which mates with the chuck needs to be faced.

Vince

Pete

Did you check the face of the backplate with the DTI? Just my impression.

Vince

Vince

I checked the video and see what you mean. I know there are a few of these lathes out in our community and hoping the experts will be able to advise what should be expected.

No I haven't checked the face. I'm reluctant to disassemble the chuck until I've spoken to the vendor. The video is really for their benefit so I can show them the problem. I've posted here for an unbiased opinion.

Pete

Pete,

Just to put you on the straight and narrow and to allay a few of your fears.

1. The outside faces of backplates and chucks can be almost anywhere, they are only rough machined to within a few thou. All the slots and other things are done after the chuck has been mounted onto a jig, and so should be within close tolerances.