Chinese model engine problem

Discussion in 'General Engine Discussion' started by rodue, Dec 6, 2019.

Help Support HMEM by donating:

  1. Dec 6, 2019 #1

    rodue

    rodue

    rodue

    Project of the Month Winner!

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    117
    Has any one had any problems with their ignition I received the engine installed the battery's and it worked on test I set it back. when I added fuel I get no spark out of the system
     
  2. Dec 7, 2019 #2

    Tom 1948

    Tom 1948

    Tom 1948

    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2018
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Ocala, Fl.
    Need more info. What model do you have?
     
  3. Dec 7, 2019 #3

    rodue

    rodue

    rodue

    Project of the Month Winner!

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    117
    IMG_1200.JPG this is their up right model
     
  4. Jan 18, 2020 #4

    Bruce R.

    Bruce R.

    Bruce R.

    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    6
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Shamokin, Pa. USA
  5. Feb 9, 2020 #5

    Dan

    Dan

    Dan

    New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2019
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Phoenix
    Happened to me with the horizontal version. The Hall effect sensor was shot. When I traced all wires also found insulation cracks which could have cause spurious electrical issues.
     
  6. Feb 14, 2020 #6

    buxxu

    buxxu

    buxxu

    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    croatia
    chinese engines are most of time a crap if u want to run it over 50% throttle
    i buy like 20 now for planes and only 1 from tw work kinda ok same size one from turkey work for 15 flights no problems that one burn piston in 4th crashing plane ,rest chinese have heat problems that lock piston over 50% of power
     
  7. Feb 16, 2020 #7

    bluejets

    bluejets

    bluejets

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    61
    What is all the extra wiring you have running to the engine?

    Hope you're not running off an external 12v battery or similar.

    Notice original HT lead disconnected.
    No ignition should be run with HT disconnected, quickest way to destroy any electronics.

    Instructions are typical Chinese and mention 3 x AA cells to be fitted in the base box but then they say voltage rating is 3.7v.
    Three AA dry cells are nominal 4.5v.

    Was mention of ignition system failure due to overheating in one comment on Banggood.
    Whether that was the correct failure diagnosis or not is another thing.

    https://www.banggood.com/Eachine-ET...ne-Collection-p-1549664.html?cur_warehouse=CN

    As for the 50% throttle claim above, just a load of cods wallop.
    Once an engine lands in consumerland, no telling what conditions it can be subjected to.
     
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2020
  8. Feb 16, 2020 #8

    dsage

    dsage

    dsage

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    64


    Ignition systems are best run from NiMh batteries because they can supply the higher currents required for a good spark. Three NiMh batteries would be nominally 3.6 volts. (hence the spec for 3.7 volts)
    I agree. Don't ever run the ignition with the HV lead off. It's pretty much assured that the electronics will be blown.
    Also don't use long flying clip leads (as shown). You want a short heavy ground from the engine block back to the battery. Otherwise the HV return current (from the spark plug) may find it easier to find a way back though your electronics (hall sensor).
     
  9. Feb 16, 2020 #9

    bluejets

    bluejets

    bluejets

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2014
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    61
    I think you'll find the spec referring to 3.7v is commonly associated with nominal voltage of a lipo.

    Agree with the 3 nicads however they are all but obsolete these days in many places.
     
  10. Feb 17, 2020 #10

    dsage

    dsage

    dsage

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Messages:
    322
    Likes Received:
    64
    An earlier post said the instructions mentioned three AA cells required. So a bit of confusion with the instructions voltage value of 3.7 vs the number of cells.
    Nickle Metal Hydride batteries come in AA size and are more or less the current replacement for Nicads. Same voltage and a lot less trouble. Three would give you 3.6 nominally.
    But for sure a single Lipo would work. They're a bit more trouble to charge properly though.
     

Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Group Builder