Cast Iron Grades

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kspringer80

Reaction score
I've already purchased some cast iron material to make a small C.I. piston from but the different cast iron options available got me thinking... I have plenty of experience with the varying grades of aluminum and steel, but have not had any experience with cast iron at work. The supplier I purchased mine from had two different grades of round stock available "Easy-to-Machine Gray Cast Iron" and "Impact-Resistant Ductile Cast Iron" (I went with ductile.)

As a general topic what separates these different grades when it comes to intended application and machining?

Unfortunately its the grey iron you want for that and most model needs, the ductile iron is useful where there is a risk of cracking such as a crankshaft or axle.

I'll leave it to someone in the US to talk grades as our code numbers are different.

J

For quite a bit of information about cast iron grades this website is good:

http://www.dura-bar.com/products/

I have access to a distributor that sells me cut offs at scrap prices. I've used both "gray iron" and "ductile iron". They both machine well in all the grades I get, though often cut offs are unidentified.

Cheers,
Phil

Phil - that looks like a good resource. From their website, it looks like they do not sell direct; any idea which if their re-sellers is "hobbyist-friendly?"

I see you're located in Michigan. See if there's a local distributor from those listed here:

http://www.dura-bar.com/distributors/

If you are lucky one of the plant managers will let you tap the scrap bins.

Durabar also makes continuously cast bearing bronze. I get bronze bearing (SAE 660) stock at $3/lb? My guy is only 25 miles away so I visit often.

Enco sells durabar cast iron but it's expensive, then there's shipping! Ouch.

Good luck

Phil