Cam/valve timing...

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

methuselah1

Reaction score
Can anyone point me to a thread giving a 101 on cam timing? I keep on building engines, but I've never done it before! The engine in question is an aircooled Westbury Seagull, inspired by Charles Lamont. (Then there's a Kiwi, Whippet and Wallaby...)

Thanks!

Andrew UK

I don't remember a thread specifically about cam timing but I don't remember what I had for dinner yesterday. Maybe post the cams lift and duration for each lobe and we can probably talk you through it.

We'll this is actually a Kiwi cam, but it's exactly the same... I've made four of 'em now; the help I need is setting them against the piston TDC. I don't know how to use these diagrams.
Westbury cams.jpeg

Andrew UK

Cam timing works within the Otto 4 cycle - generally it goes something like this
intake opens a small amount before Top dead centre (BTDC) ( the exhaust is open here on the close side of its cycle)on the overlap stroke, the piston goes down sucking in the fuel air mixture a little after Bottom Dead Centre(ABDC) it closes the intake valve, the piston continues upwards on the compression stroke, a little before Top Dead Centre it fires the plug. From there it goes back down with the Big Bang and a little before Bottom Dead Centre (BBDC) the exhaust starts to open, it then swings past the Bottom Dead Centre going up to the overlap stroke( called this because both the intake and exhaust are open at the same time at Top Dead Centre(TDC) as it approaches TDC we start the Intake opening (as per first part of this ) goes past TDC overlap and then closes After Top Dead Centre (ATDC).
Simple hey! The actual amount of cam timing each part has is dependant on quite a number of things including but not limited to
1. Engine size.
2. Piston Diameter
3. Rod Length