Cam shaft profiles.

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

makila

HMEM Supporting Member
Reaction score
I am building a twin in-line engine and having machined the cam shaft blank I studied the profiles before progressing further.

To my eye, the drawing is wrong. The shaft will rotate CCW looking rearwards from the front and the lobes themselves, positioned at 0 - 90 - 270 and 0 degrees, looks as though the cam should be rotating in the CW direction.

If I were to build the cam as shown, then the forward inlet opens at 0 followed by the exhaust at 90 degrees (180 crankshaft degrees) thus the exhaust would be open during the compression stroke. It is a similar situation for the rear cylinder lobes.

I think the lobes should be 0 - 270 - 90 - 0. Can I solicit some thoughts on the cam lobes just to be sure I am right - or wrong maybe.

Steve

Can shaft lobes.jpg

Without knowing the configuration of the entire engine its hard to figure out whats what. One thing I can say is no matter what, the exhaust lobes should lead the intake lobes. Could be that the front and rear are marked wrong. Maybe the ex and in lobes are marked wrong. Like I said, hard to tell without the whole story.

Assume its this engine? If so, looking at the intake ports looks like you have the INT/EXH/INT/EXH cams identified correctly. And assuming cam drive is a belt from crankshaft to cam shaft, looks like the direction is correct. Now that leaves the cam phasing. If I roughly eyeball the front cam set (zero is vertical, positive angle clockwise), exhaust opens say 45-deg & closes 135 deg, that's 90 & 270 crankshaft equivalent. But now intake opens at say 315-deg, which is 630-deg crankshaft. Hmm... Unless I'm missing something too... that does look off?

SNAG-4-3-2018 0000.jpg