Calculating Steam Demand

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

vargthewanderer

Reaction score
Is it possible to calculate the steam demand of an engine? I would guess that it would involve cylinder displacement and RPM I want to run it at x(number of cylinders), as well as pressure, but that's when I get fuzzy.

I'm very new at this, but I'm going to go out on a limb and guess that if you are running 60psi in on the intake line the actual pressure in the cylinder at BDC is less than that, so how do you calculate that?

Can you calculate that?

And if you can't, how do you figure out how big of a boiler you need?

Thanks,
Varg

It can be calculated, but I can't do it. Go to the steam automobile club of America form, a bunch of real steam nuts there that will help you out. Search the site first before asking for help, they hate repeating themselves over and over......

1) As you say, you can calculate the swept volume per revolution of all the cylinders and multiply by the speed to get a steam consumption. This ignores things like early cut-off, leakage, and condensation but is a reasonable stab at it.

2) From steam tables, if you know the working pressure, you can look up how much water you need to evaporate to provide the required steam. Again, you err on the safe side if you ignore superheat.

3) Sources such as Model Boilers & Boilermaking by K N Harris will give guidance as to the evaporative capacity that could be expected of various boiler designs, in terms of water boiled per unit of heating surface area, per unit time. Decide on a boiler type and work out the necessary heating area. In fact, I should have just replied saying 'buy this book' as it explains the whole thing.

4) Design your boiler.

Your question is similar to, “how much gasoline will my engine consume?