Building a double acting wobbler

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Crewcab---It was more just a curiosity thing. You are probably aware that I am a design engineer www.rupnowdesign.com and many of the machines I design use pneumatic cylinders, and I always do force calculations based on an available supply of 60PSI. The majority of cylinders that I use range from 1" bore up to 4" bore, and for obvious reasons I have to calculate to know if they are going to exert enough "push" to do the job required of them. I was just wondering how much "push" could be developed by such a small diameter piston. If a person wanted to, you can then take the known "push" that is calculated, and using the length of the crankshaft throw as a lever arm, do torque and horsepower calculations. The reason I chose 20 PSI was simply that that is the pressure my first little single acting wobbler likes to run at. It had nothing to do with the Loctite. I REALLY hope that the loctite will do the job for holding the cylinder cap and the cap at the other end in place adequately. In a pinch, I can silver solder them, but I really don't want to.---And---Speaking of "age thing"---wish me a Happy Birthday"---I'll be 62 tomorrow. Ringo Star and I share a birthday, but I think Ringo is a couple of years older than I am.

I follow your train of thought now Brian, to be fair 1kg from a 3/8" piston is pretty fair imho .......... though it' s unlikely to be punching holes in aluminium plate ::) ........ I've found with my little wobbler that torque is almost non existent, then again that isn't really surprising when you consider the overall dynamics ;)

Its a real learning curve to be fair ;D ............. but an enjoyable one.

CC

Brian