Browser

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gordon

HMEM Supporting Member
Reaction score
I am wondering which browser and operating system that folks are using. I used Chrome for several years until recently when I got a new laptop and decided to try Edge. That was because I had been told that Chrome was vulnerable to viruses hacking and did not protect my computer. The latest "information/wisdom" is that windows 11 is much safer and does not require anti virus software. It seems that everyone has a strong opinion on which is the best browser and which OS is safest. Opinions?

Hi Gordon,

I’ve been using Chrome for about 10 years since ditching Firefox as at the time it appeared to be slowing things down although I believe Chrome has become very bloated now too so perhaps it’s time for a change again?

As for OS I just use as up-to-date a version of Windows as my hardware will allow.

To me online security and home security are much the same, you can follow all the best practice and make sure you use quality locks / Antivirus etc to deter the opportunists, but if someone decides specifically that they want something that you’ve got then they’ll get it by some means.

Mark

I am wondering which browser and operating system that folks are using. I used Chrome for several years until recently when I got a new laptop and decided to try Edge. That was because I had been told that Chrome was vulnerable to viruses hacking and did not protect my computer. The latest "information/wisdom" is that windows 11 is much safer and does not require anti virus software. It seems that everyone has a strong opinion on which is the best browser and which OS is safest. Opinions?

Well - - - - if you think you can get by without anti-virus software and you're running ANY M$ product - - - - you go right ahead.