Bottle engine

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dnalot

Project of the Month Winner !!!
Reaction score
As I near the end of my first motor build I have begone to make parts for my second. I built myself a furnace two years ago and started making simple parts. This time I wanted to do something a little more difficult so I decided on building a Bottle Engine. I have made up my design and have rendered the parts to be cast in 3-d. The bottle is first and it is my first attempt at a two piece pattern with only one half pattern to work with. And its my first go at making a hollow with a sand core. I was very happy with the results, the two sides lined up perfectly and I have no voids or sand pits. The walls are .25 inches thick and the top and bottom collars are about .5 inches thick. The area to be cut out is .06 or less inches. I plan to sand it smooth and polish it.

What works well for gluing cores together?

Mark T

bottle8.jpg

bottle7.jpg

bottle6.jpg

bottle5.jpg

Bottle4.jpg

bottle3.jpg

bottle-2.jpg

bottle-1.jpg

There were many occasions when I had to make some patterns and coreboxes for iron castings and found it really very interesting, so I can say that this is a fine achievement for you - also being the first time!
Wooden patterns in themselves look like works of art when they are finished and I guess you'll have them all on your mantelpiece when you're finished with them - I can't see you throwing them away.
Keep up the good work.

Wow that's nice! I really admire folks who do great pattern work and them pour their own castings.

I have been working on a Pacific Vapor engine for the last year or so that has a nice bottle frame; IMHO a very nice shape for an engine steam or gas.

Dave

WOW, now thats a keeper! :cool:
Pete