Bentley BR2 Question

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

byawor

Reaction score
Plans say to mount master rod secure ie silver solder. Cant wrap my head around how that will work so has anyone done it?
Bob

Which plans? I recently bought the L.K. Blackmore book (haven't built it) and in it the master rod is built up by pinning and silver soldered the rod to the central "hub". He does use the term "master rod" loosely for both the final assembly and for the main fixed rod that is assembled to the central hub to make up the final "master rod" assembly.

I have been working on the BR2 for about two years. I have not built the master rod assembly yet but I intend to pin the master rod to the hub and use loctite to secure it. The Blackmore book suggests loctite as an alternative to soldering. I feel like the loctite approach has less risk as it can be easily heated to release it if anything moves while setting it up.

I found this picture sequence helpful in my planning.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/torridon/albums/72157616732436065
John

It is paramount that the Master rod, number # 1 cylinder does not come loose. In my case, using Blackmore`s book I thought I would be smart and did not follow the instructions fully and after a number of runs it came loose.
I stripped it down and my notes indicate I silversoldered it to place. Couple of things to note . Ensure the adjacent rods to the master rod [which does not pivot during operation] have clearance around their top radii to clear the 'V' section of the master rod, thereby allowing them to swing freely. clearances are fairly close in this area.
Hope this clarifies your concern.

Beautiful pictures, thanks for providing link. Who is the builder if I may ask?