beginner question ?

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dmaqtor

Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new here. I was browsing the forum and found amazing engines designs, my question is Why you build these engine ?, it's cool, but can it be used for something useful ?

thanks.

Hi;

I can’t speak for others but I’m a self-taught hoppy machinistand building these engines have taught me lot about what I can and cannot dowith different materials and my machines.

Besides it is just fun to build them and see them run.

Richard

You may as well ask why some people collect stamps. they cant stick them on a letter, after all.

I think we all have, to some degree, a creative urge ( no I dont mean sex! ) and this is just one way of using it.
theres a great deal of satisfaction when something you have made is working.

my two pence.

Roy

Very strange question.--We do it for the same reason that some men climb mountains.----Because we can!!! Each working model is a test of our own ingenuity and creativity. The engines don't have to do anything. The mere fact that they run under their own power is a mastefull accomplishment in itself.

I find It a great sense oj joy and pride to take a peice of metel or wood and make what ever out of it . And then to see the faces of others as they look them over. To hear them say I could never do that is A great feeling ! Dale

+1 What Brian said.

For me, "Now that might just work" is an itch that just has to be scratched.

" it's cool, but can it be used for something useful ?"
Mostly no, but it looks good on the shelf and can be shown to friends and grandchildren who ask "What you been doing?"

Reminds me of a cartoon - Man says to his dog "Why are you howling at the moon you silly dog?" Dog says to man " Dont knock it till you've tried it!"