Beginner here, is this a good way to proceed

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
I echo Terry d"s post . I started with an old Logan 7 inch lathe and a drill press a vice and a bunch of hand tools. The Amatures Lathe handbook is a most helpful read and I still refer to it often some 20 years into this hobby. My first engine was a copy of Philip Duclos Odds & Ends and by the time it ran the scrap box was overflowing. Do not be afraid to throw out parts that are not up to par. That's how you learn. I now have a Craftex 3500 mill a South Bend Heavy 10 a small round coloumn mill a Myford 7 and a 7inch Atlas shaper, a whole lot more hand tools and I still have a large scrap box. Many engines later I still thoroughly enjoy the pleasure I get when playing in my shop. Don't rush it. Experience only comes through doing it over and over. I wish you many years of enjoyment. P.S. Start with a barstock engine. Mistakes are cheaper. Colin

Good evening to all, i found this beautiful website recently so i thought i should ask for some guidance here. I'm a first year mechanical engineering student and i'm thinking to build a copy of DLA56 since i have one already at home. While building this engine i'm hoping to learn about engines, IC, manufacturing processes so it'll be good for me. I have no tools like cnc mills or such but i think i can find somewhere to use these tools around here. I thought maybe i can cast all engine parts using a homemade foundry and sand molds. I'll be checking posts aimed at beginners but for now i wanted to learn what you think should i do with this particular case of mine.