Bazmak-Making the acute tool sharpening system

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Just started my next project.I like the look of the acute system and with
information gleaned from Utube etc have sufficient info to make my version
However to play fair with Eccentric Engineering I have bought a set of drgs
for $35.Have made a start with the table as drgs have not yet arrived
Table calls for 150mm sq x 4mm m/s so I used 165mm sq x 5 thk S/S
4 brkts were fabbed from 25x3 angle and 3mm plt,Spacers 25dia alum
M6 allthread S/S screws and although I have ordered a few knobs and clamps
from China I also made 2 ms lever arm screws.Table works well.Now waiting for the drgs before deciding how far to go with the pantograph arm etc and what
changes if any to make.As usual flying by the seat of my pants

I am a total novice but I need to look at buying a suitable grinding wheel
On ebay I have seen a 150dia x 25mm wide diamond lapidary wheel
Would this be suitable for light dressing of hss and carbide end mills etc
What grit would be suitable ?.I need to to remove a wheel and guard from my bench grinder and check what size I can physically fit.Any advise would be appreciated Regards barry

Weekend is here so hopefully the drgs will arrive tomorrow.Meanwhile I have ordered a 150d x 25w lapidary wheel 240g from china and will also order a 150dia cup wheel say 180g and try to setup both sides of the grinder
I want to set up to simply sharpen drills single facet small sizes I have an er 32 collet set which I can try but I think will be too large so I have in mind to buy
an er16/20 collet set and make a square holder.I think this is a useful thread
for both old (very skilled engs) and young newbies.I think I am in the middle somewhere.Most of us are still learning so please input anything of interest