AutoCAD

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ernie7

Reaction score
I have been using, teaching, and consulting with 2D Mechanical AutoCAD for over 25 years. Almost every engine I have made (over 25) wether or not I designed it or I get the plans elsewhere, I redraw the plans in AutoCAD. Its quite usefull to DXF out to my CNC mill and carve out the most intricate cam, essentric or spoked flywheel.

If you need AutoCAD help please let me know.

ernie7, you don't know the barrel of questions you have just created!

I run release 2004, and am decent at getting through things for being self taught. One thing I haven't figured out is how to set layouts up for plotting. In the individual viewports, I can have different perspectives, scales, etc. and that is not a problem. What I can't for the life of me figure out is how to control the layers in each of the viewports. :x

For instance, if I have two view ports on the same layout page, and want layer 1, 2, and 3 on one of the viewports, then layer 1, 4, and 5 on the other, I am unable to do that because when I turn off (or on) the respective layer, it also changes in the other viewport. I am sure there is a trick to this, but I haven't stumbled across it yet.

Welcome to the forum!

Two viewports same page.
Layers 12345 on the model.
Turn off 123 in layoput #1 you will see only 4&5.
Turn off layers 4 and 5 in layout #2 and you will only see layers 12 and 3.

Make sure you use the box to the left of the lock in the Object Properties section, not the light bulb.

I do it all the time even though I use release 2000, it should be the same.

Do you understand?

Ernie

Okay, it works! 8)