Arduino Rotary Table for Dummies

Help Support HMEM:

tjwal

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2013
Messages
92
Reaction score
14
If I remember correctly, I hope, the enable is not connected and relies on the driver having it on by default.
 

animal12

Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2018
Messages
15
Reaction score
0
I don't know . my driver works & the motor spins doing a tutorial , but just sits there with this project .
for the tutorial it just uses step & direction like the project here
animal
 

tjwal

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2013
Messages
92
Reaction score
14
is the stepper harder to turn by hand when it is powered up?
 

tjwal

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2013
Messages
92
Reaction score
14
If the motor is powered and enabled it will be difficult to turn by hand. This is true even without the Arduino connected. If it’s still easy to turn you have a problem with the driver/motor/power supply.
 

Marcomac01

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Italy
Hello, thanks a lot for the very detailed and easy to follow guide... i tried it and worked, the only issue i have is that i do not use a reducer. How should i edit the sketch to avoid it and have 0 reduction?
I am sorry for my bad english.
Thank you very much.
 

tjwal

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2013
Messages
92
Reaction score
14
Hello, thanks a lot for the very detailed and easy to follow guide... i tried it and worked, the only issue i have is that i do not use a reducer. How should i edit the sketch to avoid it and have 0 reduction?
I am sorry for my bad english.
Thank you very much.
You will have to change the variable called “TableRatio”. It is currently set for a 36:1 rotary table.
Are you driving a spindle directly from your stepper? If so, there are some other things that need to be done.

John
 

Marcomac01

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Italy
I have to directly connect the stepper motor to the rotation support... i have no rotation reduction
 

tjwal

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2013
Messages
92
Reaction score
14
I have to directly connect the stepper motor to the rotation support... i have no rotation reduction
With no reduction (1:1) the original code will not work.
On the line after where Table Ratio is defined another variable is defined
const int Multiplier = (StepsPerRotation * TableRatio)/360

since it is defined as an integer, StepsPerRotation * TableRatio, must be evenly divisible by 360 to work.

I believe the quick fix was to change it to
const float Multiplier = (StepsPerRotation * TableRatio)/360
i never used this method so I don’t know if there were any other changes required.

a better approach would be to use the modified code posted by
Kquiggle in message 303.
 

Marcomac01

New Member
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Italy
With no reduction (1:1) the original code will not work.
On the line after where Table Ratio is defined another variable is defined
const int Multiplier = (StepsPerRotation * TableRatio)/360

since it is defined as an integer, StepsPerRotation * TableRatio, must be evenly divisible by 360 to work.

I believe the quick fix was to change it to
const float Multiplier = (StepsPerRotation * TableRatio)/360
i never used this method so I don’t know if there were any other changes required.

a better approach would be to use the modified code posted by
Kquiggle in message 303.
Ok, i was able to find a previeus version of the code, the version 5.5 (2018) and worked well for me.
 

SailplaneDriver

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2017
Messages
135
Reaction score
35
Location
Woodinville, WA
I got mine to work. Then I went to put the controls in a box like Maxmekker50. I used a 4-pin aircraft style plug so I could disconnect the stepper from the controller box. I tested it prior to connecting the motor and everything seemed to work fine. The "Run" led on the TB6560 flashed yellow when the Arduino sent the steps. Then I connected the motor and tried again - nothing. I looked at the 4-pin connector and found a solder bridge. I cleaned it up but nothing, and the "Run" led is now red. Does that mean I fried the board?
 

dazz

Active Member
Joined
May 21, 2016
Messages
43
Reaction score
6
It depends on which pins were bridged and the design of the board. It should protect itself against shorts.
Start by checking the power supply voltages and currents.

Dazz
 

bluejets

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2014
Messages
249
Reaction score
82
Disconnecting steppers from driver board while powered will blow the driver every time.
 

bluejets

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2014
Messages
249
Reaction score
82
No, it's quite simply something one does not do.
Bit like pulling the plug on a large running motor without first dropping the contactor control supply.
 

SailplaneDriver

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2017
Messages
135
Reaction score
35
Location
Woodinville, WA
Disconnecting steppers from driver board while powered will blow the driver every time.
Except that was not the case here. The system was not energized when the motor was disconnected. The stepper control board had been previously powered without a motor connected for testing purposes several times without issue and was still able to operate the motor afterwards. The only issue occurred after attempting to power the motor with a short in its leads.
 

SailplaneDriver

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2017
Messages
135
Reaction score
35
Location
Woodinville, WA
Does anyone know about the color codes for the "Run" led? I have seen it flash yellow when receiving data and stepping the motor and now solid red.
 

Latest posts

Top