Any vacancies for absolute beginners

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CrewCab

Reaction score
Hello to all ..... ;D ...... I'm Dave and based in the UK ........... West Yorkshire for those that know it.

I've been lurking on the sidelines for a few days as I'm looking to equip my little workshop with a small lathe and mill in the near future, (that's something I've been "going to do" for far too many years), and as time seems to march on faster as the years advance I think I'd better "get mi' finger out" ::)

Anyway, I've jumped in now rather than later as I have found the wealth of information and expertise on this forum to be quite unparallelled imho ....... and the end products are simply stunning; plus, having trawled through many websites and forums, this one seems to stand out as a very friendly and pleasant place to be.

So at this moment in time, I have never built an engine ............. apart from the standard school project in Engineering Class, ............ which actually did work, but that was a lot of years ago, on top of that I don't at present own many metalworking tools ........... other than a file, a hacksaw and an angle grinder.

OK ........ as far as I can see there are two choices here ............... class me as a fraud and expel me .... :eek: ......... or let me in ............. and hopefully I can learn lot's from the knowledgeable members on here ........ ;) .......... so from my point of view, hopefully it's Option 2.

Oh .......... I'm also most likely to bore you all silly with very basic questions so ....... be warned :D

Dave

Hi Dave

Where in west yorks are you i am in leeds
Mike

Welcome to HMEM Dave

Every one of us started exactly as you are.
We saw a homemade running model engine and a thought came to mind.
It was either, "I can do that!" or "Can I do that?"