Another new model engineer

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Metal Mickey

Reaction score
Hello, I am a new member to your board and having looked through it for a while before joining I must say I am impressed! I really like the idea of Team Builds in particular, although I have yet to get to grips with how you actually do them, but will no doubt find out more soon.

I am now retired from nearly 30 years in the UK Fire Service and live back home in Brixham (a small fishing/tourist port) near Torquay, South Devon in the UK. I have a workshop that has been on the run for about 10 months now and started a website relating to my modelling attempts! since Christmas 2007. Unfortunately I am not a time served engineer but am self taught. Forums like these are so important to new people who like me, are novices.

My website can be found at http://www.mikes-models.com and at present I have several projects underway, namely building Ron Chernich's Mills 1.3cc diesel as published in the excellent Model Engine Builder (from the USA). I have a 2" scale Fowler traction engine under way as well as building tools and fixtures to get work done.

I don't belong to any clubs as evenings are difficult for me as I have degenerative osteoarthritis so my concentration and movement restrict me to about 3 to 4 hours maximum. Learning the skills required for model engineering keeps me sane! Although sometimes it does the reverse and drives me mad! My other interests are computers (hence the website) and fishing, when we can get out, in our boat, moored in Dartmouth, Devon.

Anyway that's enough about me....looking forward to being a member of this board. Congratulations on your first birthday :)

Welcome Mickey. Im sure you will find many friends here:eek:)

Wesley

welcome mickey will have to check out you site when I have the time
Tin