Another New Member

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
W

wheelterrapin

Hello Folks,

I just joined the FAME group and I wrote up a introductry message to them so I am just going to copy the same message for here, at my age just remembering what to say once is hard enough let alone twice. Here is the same message I sent to FAME so if you have done read it don't waste your time reading it again.

Hello Group, another newbie here.

I am a 63 year old laid off grandfather who is raising two grandsons because their Mother chooses another life style. Needless to say at my age trying to raise two grandsons has been mentally, physically, emotionally and spiritually draining on me thus the reason I am joining this group.

I am not a machinist, just a wannabe. I have always had a dream of building a working model of a stationary gas engine and figured I am running out of time so I need to go for it. I am a fairly decent woodworker and each year try and build wooden toys to give away to kids who never get anything for Christmas. I have made a few detailed toys they call Executive Toys and purchased a Sherline Lathe and Mill several years ago, when I had two jobs, to use to make some of the more intricate wooden parts. I have never turned the Sherline mill on, it is still unused. I recently sold off some things and was able to purchase a used Enco 2 HP Bench Mill and I also have an older model 12" Atlas Metal Lathe. I am not completely ignorant of these tools as I was the Plant Engineer and Maintenance Manager of a large metal working plant for about 35 years and was around a lot of machine shop equipment which I played with from time to time but that is about all of the experience I have.