another new guy

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

millwrong

Reaction score
Greetings from the frozen Canadian prairies! I'm a millwright by trade, also did a stint as a motor rewinder/controls guy. These days I mostly hang out in my basement shop, and make endless tooling for the projects that I can't remember what the original tooling was for! Chips ahoy! :-X

Welcome, welcome. Love the basement shop, got one of my own. So tooling huh? Lets see some pictures of it. ;D I kinda have a tooling fetish (as do others here, just look at mklotz's fan club).

:D

Eric

Ahh, I hate making tooling. Keeps me from making engines!

Truth be told, I wish I had the patience to make the odd handy tool. It would save so much time in the long run, and I wouldn't need to do it twice all the time.

Welcome to the board!

Another Eric

Welcome to the board. I know all about the frozen Canadian prairies. I was shoveling snow on Tuesday in -44 in Leduc Alberta. I really appreciate my basement shop. I can't afford to heat my garage with an 8 x 16 door that has to open on occasion.

More snow to shovel today but it has warmed up to -30! Let us know what you are making.

AllThumbs said:
Ahh, I hate making tooling. Keeps me from making engines!
I'm the same way.. except once I make a tool instead of whatever make-do hack I'd been using I usually then think "why didn't I make one of these years ago?" :-\

Millwrong:

Welcome to the board... nice to see another canuck! You and Stan should come on east to Montreal. It's a balmy -20 (including wind chill) so you could wear your summer stuff. Bring you shovel Stan, supposed to get up to a foot of the white stuff tomorrow.

Joe

Hi MillWrong,