Another Flame Licker Plan

Home Model Engine Machinist Forum

Help Support Home Model Engine Machinist Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rake60

Reaction score
I've seen pictures of this Flame Licker design a few places and I've been
searching for the plans.
FL1.jpg

It seems a young man re-drew the plan as a high school drafting project.
He posted his work on his web site at:
http://www.anthonydavies.org/inv1.html
Another one on the things to build list.......

That one is the one by Phillip Duclos and documented in "Steam and Stirling Engines You Can Build, Vol 1"

Crud. It's actually in Book 2. On the cover even. :oops: Hopefully you figured that out.

I'm a machinist, I always look at the pictures. :wink:
Volume 1 does look like an interesting book too!

Thanks for the tip on the book. Got to have a copy of it, or them ;)

That engine is also in "The Shop Wisdom of Philip Duclos" published by Vallage Press. A book I can highly recomend.

Rick

rake60 said:
I've seen pictures of this Flame Licker design a few places and I've been
searching for the plans.

This engine is also featured as a three part article in Live Steam Magazine, Oct-Nov-Dec 1990.

Chuck

I keep looking at these plans....
That damn cam keeps putting me off.
If it ever hits the work bench the cam will be the first part made.
(Just in case I can't!. LOL) Every plan I've come up with for cutting the
the groove in the side of the cam brings visions of exposed thumb bones.
I'll keep working on a better plan....

Rick

Rick,